Making the most of drinktec

Your week in Munich is only partially about what's in the exhibition halls ...
read more

Exhibitors: what’s hot at drinktec

There are 1,500 stories to be told. Here are some of the most compelling...
read more

More Features >


Three buses

Genuine marketing innovations are rare - here's three to start '16...
read more

20:20 vision: take the over

Craft beer growth is unstoppable unless definition concerns trip it up...
read more

More Opinions >

Home | News | People | SABMiller’s Lawrence honoured by IBD

SABMiller’s Lawrence honoured by IBD

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font
Lawrence: part of SABMiller's team in Woking, England

Only fourth recipient this century to receive Cambridge Prize accolade

SABMiller brewer Dr Stephen Lawrence has become only the fourth recipient this century to be awarded the Cambridge Prize by the Institute of Brewing & Distilling.

Given to younger members of the IBD in recognition of a ‘highly significant’ contribution to brewing science, the accolade was given to Lawrence for his postdoctoral work on the impact of serial re-pitching on yeast at SABMiller’s research brewery at Nottingham University.

As well as a cheque for £500 and a trophy, he receives a bursary to attend the IBD’s International Young Scientists Symposium on Malting, Brewing and Distilling, which takes place in California next April. 

“Winning the Cambridge Prize is a real honour and it’s wonderful to receive this recognition for research I carried out over a number of years,” said Lawrence, now a member of the SABMiller’s technical team based at its UK headquarters in Woking.

“I am enormously grateful to the team at Nottingham for all their help, without which I would never have completed the projects.

“As a young brewing scientist starting on a lengthy research project, I was also glad of the support available from the IBD. The opportunities it gave me to network with other young brewers were invaluable.”

In winning the Cambridge Prize, Lawrence joins a short list of brewing luminaries including Charlie Bamforth, president of the IBD, and its president-elect, Dr Katherine Smart, who won the award in 1984 and 1999 respectively. 

It was last presented in 2010 to Michaela Miedl, then at Molson Coors and now working for SABMiller in Switzerland.


The Beer World Cup

Rate this article